Raise your hand if you are a sucker for emotional sports moments

I know I know, I just posted a video of Knowshon Moreno, but I just had to highlight those gushing, emotional, manly tears flowing down his face.

I’ll admit, I am a huge sucker for emotional sports moments. I’ve been brought to tears time and time again by stories like a high school football manager with down syndrome getting one carry in a football game and the other team letting him score a touchdown or the terminal cancer patient visiting his favorite team and meeting his favorite player. These types of moments choke me up.

Before the NFC Championship two weeks ago, my wife and I were eating breakfast and she said “I don’t know why, but I have this weird feeling that I’m going to cry today.” Later in the evening, right after Sherman tipped away that final pass and Malcolm Smith brought in the interception, I turned around to my wife in the bar and said “that’s it, we did it. We’re going to the Super Bowl.”

My statement was apparently enough to create an emotional release that resulted in joyful tears. This Sunday, I’ll let you know right now that I will probably end up shedding a tear or two, whether happy tears or sad tears, and I can confidently say there is nothing wrong with that.

Therefore, when I saw these two videos today and laughed and cried a little along with the people in the videos, I figured I had to share them with everybody in case they hadn’t seen the clips.

Nearly every year there is some big sporting event to which one person gives another person tickets and films the reveal. A year ago, a lifelong Alabama fan received a Bear Bryant fedora inside of which were two tickets to the national championship. A grown man was brought to tears because he was going to watch his favorite team play in the biggest game of the season.

Now that the Seahawks are in the Super Bowl, that big ticket reveal involved a lifelong Seahawks fan who just couldn’t believe what her son was giving her. If you are a Seahawks fan, try to watch this whole video without tearing up. It’s okay if you cry, it shows you feel some of those emotions that mother is feeling. Could you imagine your reaction if someone surprised you with Super Bowl tickets?

Moving on to the second video. Remember that story last week about the two twin girls who wear hearing aids and wrote a letter to Seahawks fullback Derrick Coleman, the same Derrick Coleman who was featured in the Duracel commercial? Not only did those girls get a hand-written response back from their new favorite player, but that wasn’t the end of the feel good story.

If you aren’t sure what happened next, watch this video; but at this point I’m sure you could guess what’s coming next.

I’ve been thinking/saying it all year that something about this 2013-2014 Seahawks seems different. I can’t quite put my finger on it but it’s almost as if the players on the roster are fully aware of how blessed they are to be playing in the NFL and want to give back to the community as much as possible. Man, I love the Seahawks.

Is it Sunday yet? #GoHawks.

Leave a Reply

